Tim Wise is my white blog-friend.

In Reading Comprehension 101: Text, Subtext and the Politics of Misinterpretation, Tim Wise writes (emphasis mine):

In other words, putting aside the inherent absurdity of this interpretation — I am white after all, as are my kids, as is my wife, as is my momma, all my immediate family and my best friend too — some who read the piece believe against all logic and in the face of plain English (however aggressive the piece may be), that I have announced, excitedly, the coming of a glorious race war and the end of white people.

Normally, when a white person asserts that she is “not racist” because she has a black friend or he has an Asian wife, it is considered an invalid argument, because knowing a person of colour does not grant immunity from being racist. Here, Tim Wise argues that he is not anti-white, because he is white, his wife is white, his best friend is white, etc.

I would normally consider this bad form, since making this argument may give some people the impression that the tired “black friend” defense is acceptable. However, some readers of my blog have constantly accused me of being “racist against white people”, so I will try to follow Tim Wise’s lead and invoke whiteness as a defense against accusations of being anti-white.

Unfortunately, I am not him. I am not white, so I cannot use my race to protect myself against accusations of being anti-white. I am not married to or dating a white person. However, I do have white relatives and white friends. I cannot prove this online, but I can prove that Tim Wise, a white person, is in fact my blog-friend. You see, even though many white people consider Tim Wise to be the self-hating white guy, the fact that I am associated with him actually elevates my status and credibility in the eyes of white folk, because he is white, and I am not. The perceived anti-white white person is seen as less anti-white than the perceived anti-white person of colour, after all.

Exhibit A: Tim Wise linked to me on his old blogroll

If you look at Tim Wise’s old blogroll, my blog, Restructure!, is actually listed.

Exhibit B: Tim Wise linked to me again on his new blogroll.

If you look at Tim Wise’s new blogroll, my blog is still listed!

Exhibit C: Tim Wise linked to a whole bunch of my posts.

In Tim Wise’s Social Science Roundup: Research on Race and Gender Bias, all five links point to this blog. Four are links to individual blog posts, and the fifth links to this blog’s main page.

As you can see, Tim Wise, the most famous white anti-racist, is my white blog-friend. I am not anti-white, because my blog-friend is white.

33 Responses to “Tim Wise is my white blog-friend.”

  1. Galool Says:

    Tim got a lot of flack for his post on the elections from the usual suspects. And as expected, he’s accused of being anti-White not because he’s actually guilty of that, rather as a way to evade dealing with the uncomfortable truths he reveals.

    BTW, Restructure, I read your blog (more than several posts) and you’re not Anti-White.

  2. AfroCan Says:

    Restructure,

    Since you have announced this important link to White anti-racist Tim Wise, might I recommend that some of bloggers who are attacking you and even those who are not, take the time to seek out some of Mr. Wise’s excellent works on Race and White Privilege:

    White Like Me: Reflections on Race from a Privileged Son;

    Color Blind: The Rise of Post-Racial Politics and the Retreat from Racial Equity;

    Affirmative Action: Racial Preference in Black and White

  3. Anonymous Says:

    “… the fact that I am associated with him (Wise) actually elevates my status and credibility in the eyes of white folk, because he is white, and I am not. The perceived anti-white white person is seen as less anti-white than the perceived anti-white person of colour, after all.”

    Bull.

    Tim Wise is a butt-puckered, wall-eyed lunatic who is so full of roiling hate for whites that he can barely contain it. Anyone who has seen him speak or read his putrid spew knows it.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    He was in particularly rare form immediately after the American midterm elections, bringing new meaning to the term, “sore loser”.
    I have edited his pathetic, hysterical little diatribe to emphasize the obvious.

    You can find it on the Daily Kos.
    “An-Open-Letter_to-the-White-Right-On-the-Occasion-of-Your-Recent,-Successful-Temper-Tantrum
    …you will lose. So make a note of it. Tweet it to yourself. Put it on your Facebook wall and leave it there so you’ll remember that I told you so. It is coming, and soon.
    …your kind — mostly older white folks beholden to an absurd, inaccurate, nostalgic fantasy of what America used to be like — are dying.
    …You’re like the bad guy in every horror movie ever made, who gets shot five times, or stabbed ten, or blown up twice, and who will eventually pass — even if it takes four sequels to make it happen — but who in the meantime keeps coming back around, grabbing at our ankles as we walk by, we having been mistakenly convinced that you were finally dead this time.
    …Our ankles survive. You do not. …And in the pantheon of American history, conservative old white people have pretty much always been the bad guys…
    …you’re on the endangered list.
    And unlike, say, the bald eagle or some exotic species of muskrat, you are not worth saving.
    There won’t be any more white folks around who think the 1950s were the good old days, because there won’t be any more white folks around who actually remember them, and so therefore, we’ll be able to teach about them accurately and honestly, (Translation: Wise hopes to make up his own version if history someday and shove it down the throats of the young, like he’s not already doing that)
    … the folks of color, and even a decent size minority of us white folks will be able to crush you…
    …And they know how to regroup, and plot, and plan, and they are planning even now — we are — your destruction.
    …We just have to be patient…And wait for you to pass into that good night, first politically, and then, well…Do you hear it The sound of your empire dying? Your nation, as you knew it, ending, permanently?
    Because I do, and the sound of its demise is beautiful.”

    When called on his hate-rant, Wise claimed that it was just “hyperbole” and accused his detractors of stupidity for not “getting it”. Of course, no one with two neurons and a synapse to his name is in the least buying THAT load of crap.

    You are in piss-poor company, Restructure. I suspect that you don’t mind it at all.

  5. DaisyDeadhead Says:

    Well, he ignored my email. So he DOES hate white people, LOL.

    PS: Can I link it here? It started a lot of arguments all over the place and I wondered what he thought of it. No answer. Oh well, them’s the breaks.

    http://daisysdeadair.blogspot.com/2010/10/part-two-how-white-flight-brought-down.html

    I’d love to hear your comments too, of course.

    PS: If I had a college degree and learned to used highfalutin academic words, bet he would have replied. CLASS is something of an issue too, you know.

  6. RVCBard Says:

    I . . . have my issues with Mr. Wise.

  7. fred Says:

    the fact that I am associated with him actually elevates my status and credibility in the eyes of white folk

    That’s a variation of the ad hominem argument ie “my argument has merit because I have this quality”. Whether one has white friends, black friends or polka dot friends is irrelevant to whatever claim being made.

    By the way, Tim Wise charges $4,000 per speaking engagement and lives in a house worth over half a million. Apparently, “white privilege” has been very good to him. hehe

  8. Blazing Saddles Says:

    No, Tim Wise is not a self-hating White. He’s Jewish and he hates non-Jewish Whites. He is, in fact, a RACIST.

  9. fred Says:

    Blazing Saddles-

    One of Lil Tim’s grandfathers was jewish but he’s not. That doesn’t sound very “jewish” to me. Though he may well have some kind of ethnic grudge. Who knows? It’s just that I’ve heard people say the same thing about Sleazy Dees and he wasn’t even jewish. So I figure they’re both just milking the same cash cow. If the clowns who read this blog ever saw Sleazy’s mansion they’d flip. They don’t call it the “poverty palace” for nothing.

    These suckers cheer guys like Sleazy and Lil Tim because they pander to their prejudices. But what they’re really doing is making white con men rich. It’s reminiscent of the televangelists. It’s a schweet racket. Heck, if I didn’t have integrity I’d be tempted to do it myself.

  10. Sam Says:

    Somehow I hope Restructure was being sarcastc. If she wasn’t, her post had a sadly “Sally Field” vibe to it. “Tim likes me…he really likes me!” That sort of thing. Ew.

    Can I argue that I’m not a racist because I have a black cat?
    Oh wait…just existing makes me a racist. Sorry…I forgot.

  11. Restructure! Says:

    fred,

    That’s a variation of the ad hominem argument ie “my argument has merit because I have this quality”. Whether one has white friends, black friends or polka dot friends is irrelevant to whatever claim being made.

    I’m not sure if you actually think I’m endorsing logical fallacies that depend invoking whiteness…

    DaisyDeadhead,

    I thought Tim Wise was originally from a white working-class background? Not sure. He probably gets a lot of emails, though. I don’t even reply to all emails I get, as AfroCan can attest. I have a lot emails piling up for real-life stuff, plus blog-related stuff, and I just have trouble with inbox processing.

    RVCBard,

    I may be biased, since I’m a fan of Tim Wise’s writing skill, which I think is better demonstrated in his old essays than on his new blog. Wise already acknowledges that he benefits from white privilege even as an anti-racist, and that it’s effed up. I really do agree that white anti-racists should generally work in support roles instead of leading, as any ally should do, but as far as I know, Wise’s writings deal with Racism 101 issues. He’s battling the white right, which is something that I personally don’t want to do, and which I want white allies to do. Answering Racism 101 questions that are the same questions over and over again is boring, so white allies should be doing that kind of drudgery.

  12. AfroCan Says:

    Anonymous Says:
    November 9, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    (Translation: Wise hopes to make up his own version if history someday and shove it down the throats of the young, like he’s not already doing that)
    … the folks of color, and even a decent size minority of us white folks will be able to crush you…
    …And they know how to regroup, and plot, and plan, and they are planning even now — we are — your destruction.

    ………….

    Open all the windows! And let the funky air out!

    A White Troll just cut the cheese again, pollutin’ the cyberspace with his White Supremacist flatulence.

  13. fred Says:

    “Cut the cheese” potty humour? Yeah. I want to work and associate with people who talk about flatulence. :rolls eyes: Every time afro opens his mouth he demonstrates why 99% of blacks make the rest look bad.

  14. Manju Says:

    Daisy:

    The premise of your article (How did the American Left lose the working classes?) is wrong. The American Left never lost the working classes. Even Paul Krugman has conceded this point. The major scholar here is Larry Bartlels of Princeton U (a leftist, btw) who actually crunched the data (Andrew Gellman and others have been doing some extraordinary work in this area too) His conclusions:

    “Has the white working class abandoned the Democratic Party? No. White voters in the bottom third of the income distribution have actually become more reliably Democratic in presidential elections over the past half-century”

    ” Has the white working class become more conservative? No. The average views of low-income whites have remained virtually unchanged over the past 30 years.”

    “Do working class “moral values” trump economics? No. Social issues (including abortion) are less strongly related to party identification and presidential votes than economic issues are, and that is even more true for whites in the bottom third of the income distribution than for more affluent whites.”

  15. Manju Says:

    To answer the obvious next question…if the left never lost the working class (in fact they’ve gained shares there) how did the New Deal coalition come apart?

    The answer is the collapse of Jim Crow. Segregationists were an integral part of the progressive movement, beginning with Woodrow Wilson’s presidency . Thats why FDR, Stevenson, and JFK ran with segregationists on the ticket, why FDR agreed to ignore lynching, and why JFK and LBJ killed (by watering down) the 1957 CRA. All these men won the south.

    This active collusion with the Jim Crow regime meant progressive presidential candidates started out with an unfair advantage over the right-wing party. In 1964 they lost this advantage (on the presidential level) and have never really recovered.

    The demise of jim crow ironically opened the south to the right-wing anti-labor party. Working class southerners generally stayed with the dems but middle to upper class voters started to trend repub, as would be expected due to the demise of a racially coercive monopoly.

  16. Manju Says:

    “All these men won the south.”

    except LBJ in 64, of course, though he benefited from it in 1960. And Truman, who had a 3rd party Dixiecrat challenge, though he still benefited from democratic racism since the votes didn’t go to the repubs.

  17. AfroCan Says:

    fred Says:
    November 11, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Every time afro opens his mouth he demonstrates why 99% of blacks make the rest look bad.

    ….

    There Black folks out there even Louder and more Militant than I am…Try a Black Muslim…I’m quite tame in comparison believe me…

    Don’t you think you’re not exactly doing your “good” White group any big favours when you open your White supremacist rhetoric…?

    Every response you write on this blog, with the exception of your potty humour, seems to come from a position of White supremacy – reverse White victimization.

    I am merely Anti-racist, not invoking “Black supremacist rhetoric”, as I see that as counterproductive. Black folks have no power to oppress White folks, we aren’t the ones creating the exclusionary policy / legislation.

    Have you found and read that Canadian history book yet….?

  18. africanblackmilitant Says:

    I’m not a big fan of Mr Wise. To me he is still white. Just like a snake, some snakes can kill you dead within five minutes, others are harmless, but just because have run into a harmless snake, that doesn’t mean it’s nature has changed, it’s still a snake, it just may not carry the deadly venom.

  19. AfroCan Says:

    africanblackmilitant Says:
    November 16, 2010 at 10:32 am

    I’m not a big fan of Mr Wise….

    …………….

    Nice to hear from you.

    But can you elaborate more about your position? Be careful that White trolls on this blog don’t get a chance to mobilize/re-contextualize your words in claiming you “hate” White people or that you’re “racist”…

    I don’t “hate” White people and I don’t have power to oppress them whatever my prejudices….what I specifically “hate” is their privilege and power to dominate and their hypocrisy about their privilege—-that has alienated me most. It is hard to hold White folks accountable for their racial transgressions. There are little or no consequences to Whites for the psychic and social harms they can inflict on Black folks.

    But believe it or not, I actually have two good White friends, who had to earn my trust and friendship over two decades. I put them through the Anti-racist wringer, in making them prove they weren’t racist/white supremacist in their thinking, making them critically conscious of their privilege. I compelled them to do the Anti-racist work. Now, they are no longer afraid or offended by my Black anger….they work to see and understand from where it emerges without patronizing me either.

    I’ll admit that I too was ambivalent about Wise when I read his first work, White Like Me…I questioned his sincerity and commitment…I felt, oh God, here’s another White guy, and White Jewish to boot, mining the pain and oppression of Black folks in furthering his social interests / getting his daily bread buttered on both sides, etc.

    After all, Wise is the one getting the gigs lecturing about racism and privilege—Would Black scholars/cultural critics ever get such opportunities and promotion? Afro-Americans have been writing about White privilege for over a century, and no one in the mainstream paid much attention—-so it is most irksome that when a White person, Wise, Peggy McIntosh, Ruth Frankenburg, Richard Dyer and a host of others, write about these socio-political issues, all of a sudden they become “authorities” as if they “discovered” the subject / critical Whiteness studies…

    Indeed, a very militant Islamic voice on one of Wise’s blogs “called him out” on this very issue……it was rather hostile but I understood from where the brother was coming Needless to say, I don’t think Wise responded…exercising his privilege maybe?

    Nonetheless, I’ve read taken the time to read several of Wise’s works. I have not seen him in person…and recognize I don’t have to like him personally. But I feel I have learned quite a bit about Affirmation Action US style, and Obama’s dilemma in mobilizing the contradictory tenets of colourblind ideology, why it has failed as a political strategy in appealing to both liberal Whites and crackers….

    I felt Obama was almost doomed to stumble, because I witnessed the paradoxes of the colourblind rhetoric he was mobilizing…Wise explains in Colorblind and Between Barack and a Hard Place, the reasons the colourblind rhetoric hasn’t worked.

    But tell me, what are your specific issues with Wise…and are you U.S. or Canadian – based?

  20. Restructure! Says:

    AfroCan,

    Don’t bother with africanblackmilitant. He is a troll and probably a white supremacist in disguise.

  21. AfroCan Says:

    The irony of Anti-racism work, is that Whites are needed to spread the word to other Whites, and dare I say it, giving the movement creditability and legitimacy…? In a way, it’s almost like evangelism. How about that Frederico…?

    What the White anti-racist must remember is not to colonize or patronize POCs as they engage the work. ie. No, you don’t know more about racist oppression than I do or what my feelings are and make some room for POCs to also speak rather than appearing as background puppets.

    White anti-racists must remain humble, remembering that they can’t always lead, and that they intervene when and how we ask them to intervene.

    That is the supreme test in determining White anti-racist commitment, in the throwing off the cloak of privilege—not getting all “offended” when they are told to shut-the-fuxxk-up or not picking up all their marbles and resources and going home because they can’t always call the shots…

  22. AfroCan Says:

    Restructure! Says:
    November 16, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    AfroCan,

    Don’t bother with africanblackmilitant. He is a troll and probably a white supremacist in disguise.

    …………….

    Thanks Restructure for the warning…How duplicitous.

    This site is becoming addictive….I’m getting burned out anyway… the level of racism and White supremacist rhetoric is as astounding as it is disheartening..

  23. africanblackmilitant Says:

    AfroCan

    To me so called white-liberals, like Mr Wise are the advance-team of “keep the n*ggers in line” of the white supremacy militia. People like Tim Wise, Peggy McIntosh, Robert Jensen seem to not want to kill nothing, or let nothing die.

    THEY ALL REVERT TO TYPE.

    Imagine that you are in a war. You’re in the trenches, out of ammunition and being fired upon by the enemy. You need help. Here comes the cavalry. Reinforcements start pouring in to join you in the trenches. Only catch is, they didn’t bring anything with them. They didn’t bring a gun for you or even for themselves. They just come and sit with you in the trenches. Now, some people may take that and be grateful. No, really because I have seen where we demand nothing but the best from our own, but when it comes to white folk we take whatever “help” they are willing to give and in return praise them to no end.

    People like Wise and other white liberals believe that Africans or “minorities” ought to be grateful to them for their efforts, and become violently indignant if they’re not thanked or their boots not licked clean enough. I must admit though, the white liberals can be slick world champion linguists.

    (Even you fall for their tricks, notice the way, restructure called me a troll and you believed it)

    Back to Tim Wise, well he is exceptional at using words to shift the conversation, avoiding questions or agreeing with the non-white person, but dropping a barrage of words, so the original point is smothered in a heap of S**T. He wouldn’t want non-white people to think racism is as simple as White people mistreating individuals whom they say are not White. As I say I don’t trust those nice ones the most, they say “The road to HELL is paved with gold”, don’t trust any of them, because I don’t think they deal in reality. Not only do I feel in my bones its a trap, but it has been recorded in the annals of history immemorial.

    WE CANT TRUST IT.

  24. AfroCan Says:

    africanblackmilitant Says:
    November 17, 2010 at 8:52 am

    “People like Wise and other white liberals believe that Africans or “minorities” ought to be grateful to them for their efforts, and become violently indignant if they’re not thanked or their boots not licked clean enough. I must admit though, the white liberals can be slick world champion linguists”.

    …………

    I also really don’t “trust” White folks either. I have experienced their hypocrisy first hand. I wasn’t born yesterday. That racism and inequality continue to exist doesn’t surprise or even bother me as much as the hypocrisy and denial of it.

    I in fact keep Whites at an arms-length distance but also recognize Black folks can’t live in a world without completely by ignoring or having to interact with them.

    Whites still dominate all the systems and institutions that we have to negotiate until we as a group can start building our own in a self-sustaining way. For instance, I am a big supporter of Afro-centric / Black focused schools in repairing the damage that has perpetrated on Black learners in the Euro-centric educational system.

    But what I genuinely fear most is the vast number of critically unconscious POCs who still subscribe to “meritocracy” and “colourblind” rhetoric—even supremely educated leaders like Obama. As much as I admire the man, I feel he has sucked up that particular rhetoric (courtesy of his post-Civil Rights assimilationist education) as a political strategy and it is quickly becoming his downfall as he must perform damage control in resolving the rhetoric’s inherent contradictions.

    Few POCs realize that such rhetoric actually negates their own political and community interests. It is a contradiction in terms—One cannot “celebrate” Black history, culture/ politics and embrace colorblindness/”race neutrality” at the same time.

    Don’t you think subscribing to the tenets of colorblindness also works to keep “nxxxers” in their place?

    …………….

    AND

    “People like Wise and other white liberals believe that Africans or “minorities” ought to be grateful to them for their efforts, and become violently indignant if they’re not thanked or their boots not licked clean enough. I must admit though, the white liberals can be slick world champion linguists”.

    …………

    What you’re calling into question in this comment is the problematic discourse of White Paternalism/ false empathy—of which I am very aware and have critiqued at length on various posts.

    If you get a chance read my Sept. 16 Guest Post: Hidden Job Market: Whiteness has its Privileges…under Employment in “Browse Ideas”.

  25. Jayn Says:

    Afrocan, I’m curious–how would your ‘black centered’ schools be different from the current public school system?

  26. AfroCan Says:

    Jayn Says:
    November 17, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Afrocan, I’m curious–how would your ‘black centered’ schools be different from the current public school system?

    ………

    Jayn,

    It’s critical that you investigate the history of this Black-centered school movement.

    It’s critical to do the background reading (George S. Dei) about this movement and not to (mis)conceive / formulate it as “Re-Segregationist” but as one of providing choices/ options and alternative learning.

    Think of it as similar to creating alternative schools for Arts students, Native Indians, Catholic or Jewish faith based schooling, or an alternative environment for Lesbian and Gay students. Some of the same values / principles apply.

    First, it is about providing Black parents who have children you are failing / underachieving in the mainstream with choices and alternatives in within a safe environment—i.e. one that is, shall we say “racist-free”, a supportive educational environment with a curriculum and pedagogy that addresses their specific educational needs and challenges.

    Black-focus schools were designed to ameliorate the high drop out and push-out /expulsion rates among Black students in Toronto Board’s system. To stop the school-to prison pipeline as they say.

    Also, Black-focus schools were not meant to be a “dumping ground” for the “unteachables” and “behavioral problem” students—another mis(conception) of Black-focused schools disseminated in the mainstream. I’m not denying their are some badassss Blacks kids out there but we need to stop stereotyping all Black students as South-Central LA denizens.

    It isn’t about just learning Black history and African drumming all day long, as the mainstream media likes to (mis) represent it. I could slap the people at CTV News. The mainstream media unfortunately took up that position, completely distorting the reasons and principles behind it all.

    The curriculum would be customized / adapted to the special needs / requirements of Black students in bringing the ones who are failing up to provincial standard. Students would still be taught math, English, etc. but employing different non-Europeanist cultural contexts and approaches. They would still have to write exams that successfully meet Provincial level benchmarks.

    But it is about choice—no one is compelling Black parents to do this if it isn’t necessary. The Black students who are going great—good for them!

    I was born in Canada over forty-years ago. Although, I question whether I really have a sense of “belonging” to the nation. And no, I can’t “go back to where I came from” to invoke a common anti-Black taunt.

    Reflecting, I sorely wish there was such a thing as Black-focused schools in the 70s and early 80s. I can’t begin to tell you the impact of Eurocentricism in the system; how unwelcoming and un-nurturing the school system often was to Black students—not only from the predominately White student body but also from teachers who didn’t care or recognize you as a Black student as “worthy” or “intelligent” as a learner.

    To be fair, I had one or two excellent White teachers in grades 10 and 13 of whom memories remain fond. They made my learning experience worthwhile and above all the cared. However, the student body made school memories traumatic.

    I went to school with a lot of Freds and Sams and Michael Eriksson types— and some girls were just as vitriolic in their racism. Talk about “unsafe” and sometimes violent space. In elementary school, I was often the only Black kid in the class—and I’m not particularly fond of Germans, Italians or Greeks—-my individual “prejudices”!

    Back then, I just didn’t have the language to articulate those experiences. You had to be a survivor in not dropping out—One just privately cried a lot.

    These are past experiences that have made so militant thirty-odd years later and an advocate of Black-focused schools. It’s not to say, that at a Black school there wouldn’t be potentially weak teachers, some fights / bullying, kids you don’t get along with—-but at least the conflict won’t be about race.

    There we would be all equal as, shall I emphatically say—-“Nxxgas”!

  27. millie fink Says:

    I thought this post was hilarious! And I suspect I’m reading the humor in the way R means it to be read. Kinda like, “back atcha, white libs!”

    Nice post, thnx!

  28. DaisyDeadhead Says:

    Just a note to say I think its funny (and all too predictable) when hyper-educated, upper class white men are used to refute anything a working class person says.

    Well, of course. silly me, I will delete everything immediately! (/snark)

    Meanwhile, what do I do with my actual experience and observations? Does that mean they’re wrong, Paul Krugman is right, but he doesn’t live where I live? I guess what I actually see is not what I actually see. Glad the Nobel prize winning jet-setters have made me see the light and not trust my own mind or eyes or powers of observation. What was I thinking? I should know that I am certainly no match for someone who doesn’t live in my working class apartment complex in the south! Obviously, people who don’t live here know far more about the place than I do.

    Manju, thank you for putting me in my place.

    PS: Some of us don’t think the Democratic Party is particularly leftist and hasn’t been for about 20 years. Which of course, nullifies most of what you said, doesn’t it?

  29. Anonymous Says:

    “But believe it or not, I actually have two good White friends, who had to earn my trust and friendship over two decades. I put them through the Anti-racist wringer, in making them prove they weren’t racist/white supremacist in their thinking, making them critically conscious of their privilege. I compelled them to do the Anti-racist work. Now, they are no longer afraid or offended by my Black anger….they work to see and understand from where it emerges without patronizing me either.”
    They hold his penis for him when he wants to pee.

  30. mixed race Says:

    The resident “militant Black person”, i.e. racist, writes:

    “To me so called white-liberals, like Mr Wise are the advance-team of “keep the n*ggers in line” of the white supremacy militia. People like Tim Wise, Peggy McIntosh, Robert Jensen seem to not want to kill nothing, or let nothing die.”

    Translation: a White “anti racism” writer doesn’t go far enough for Mr. Militant Black person, who then paints Wise and White racists with the same brush – as all plotting against the Black man.

    This is really the game with identity politics; that is, a White liberal becomes guilt ridden over his or her White privilege and attempts to seek forgiveness from a “Person of Colour” with a “race analysis” by offering to jump in front of him/her like a jack a*s. The “Person of Colour” then cries “No, no, no…White man, you haven’t done enough…jump higher!”, and then the White man proceeds to jump higher. And the “Person of Colour” cries again: “Not good enough, Mr “so-called” anti racist White person; you need to try harder!…”. And, of course, this charade continues until Whitey exhausts all his options and “Person of Colour” concludes that Whitey isn’t genuinely interested in fighting White privilege, and therefore is just another racist.

    I do agree with one point: the “nice ones” are genuinely the least sincere ones, whereas you know where you stand with most White bigots (especially of the working class variety).

  31. mixed race Says:

    AfroCan Says:
    November 17, 2010 at 11:46 am
    In response to

    africanblackmilitant Says:
    November 17, 2010 at 8:52 am
    “People like Wise and other white liberals believe that Africans or “minorities” ought to be grateful to them for their efforts, and become violently indignant if they’re not thanked or their boots not licked clean enough. I must admit though, the white liberals can be slick world champion linguists”.
    …………
    “””I also really don’t “trust” White folks either. I have experienced their hypocrisy first hand. I wasn’t born yesterday. That racism and inequality continue to exist doesn’t surprise or even bother me as much as the hypocrisy and denial of it. “”””

    So basically you’re a racist like African Militant person.

    “”””I in fact keep Whites at an arms-length distance but also recognize Black folks can’t live in a world without completely by ignoring or having to interact with them.”””

    Substitute “Whites” with any other group and you’d be labeled a racist – no question about it. Yet, it’s apparently acceptable for you to make sweeping statements about White people? Experiencing racism isn’t an excuse for being a racist.

    Same point as above.

    “”””Whites still dominate all the systems and institutions that we have to negotiate until we as a group can start building our own in a self-sustaining way. For instance, I am a big supporter of Afro-centric / Black focused schools in repairing the damage that has perpetrated on Black learners in the Euro-centric educational system.””””

    Try to put this in concrete terms: How does “White domination” of “ all the systems and institutions we have to negotiate” play out in concrete terms? Give illustrations.

    “”””But what I genuinely fear most is the vast number of critically unconscious POCs who still subscribe to “meritocracy” and “colourblind” rhetoric—even supremely educated leaders like Obama.””””

    Translation: All “People of Colour” have similar interests and should think alike. So apparently Obama – a Harvard-educated lawyer/leader of the most powerful country on earth – should share the interests of your everyday, run of the mill African American because of a shared history and identity.

    “””As much as I admire the man, I feel he has sucked up that particular rhetoric (courtesy of his post-Civil Rights assimilationist education) as a political strategy and it is quickly becoming his downfall as he must perform damage control in resolving the rhetoric’s inherent contradictions.””””

    The naivety of this statement.

    First of all, you don’t get elected to the office of President of the United States, let along last in this position, by stepping on the toes of the powerful. Obama campaigned on a populist ticket – he received millions in campaign donations from the rich and powerful. The naivety of Black people thinking that Obama would implement fundamentally different programs than his White predecessors says more about the state of class consciousness in the African diaspora communities than the cynicism of Obama.

    “”””Few POCs realize that such rhetoric actually negates their own political and community interests. It is a contradiction in terms—One cannot “celebrate” Black history, culture/ politics and embrace colorblindness/”race neutrality” at the same time.”””

    Again, speaking as if POCs share the same interests. For example, the Korean business owners who’ve manage to monopolize the Black beauty market somehow share the interests of their Black customers.

    “”””Don’t you think subscribing to the tenets of colorblindness also works to keep “nxxxers” in their place?””””

    It might, yes. Yet it may also motivate Black people to stop falling back on the victimology mentality to explain everything wrong in their lives (not to simplify matters).

  32. mixed race Says:

    “””””These are past experiences that have made so militant thirty-odd years later and an advocate of Black-focused schools. It’s not to say, that at a Black school there wouldn’t be potentially weak teachers, some fights / bullying, kids you don’t get along with—-but at least the conflict won’t be about race.

    There we would be all equal as, shall I emphatically say—-”Nxxgas”!””””

    Logic and experience would suggest otherwise. That is, hierarchies develop in every environment, which certainly includes environments made up of people of the same race. I attended an overwhelmingly Black Church when I younger. The racial hiearchies manifested themselves in comments like “burnt toast” in reference to a darker skinned boy, and “yellow n*ggas* in reference to some of the lighter skin kids.

    I lost track of the amount of times I’ve heard comments from Black people about “having nice skin” and “good hair” (translation: you have brown skin and less kinky textured hair).

  33. John P Says:

    Boy i sure do hate racisim, saying black people can jump higher and other stuff, cant we just all get along


Comments are closed.

