I write like science fiction writers.

I submitted several writing samples from my blog to the statistical analysis tool I Write Like. Apparently, I write like H. P. Lovecraft most of the time, of whose writings I am a fan.* The second writer who came up consistently was Cory Doctorow, and I have read and enjoyed many of his short stories as well.

Both are writers of science fiction short stories, and their writings are available either in the public domain or under the Creative Commons license, which means you can find their short stories for free on the Internet. If you are lucky enough to have an iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad, you can install the free app Stanza and find these and other free works under the “Feedbooks – Free Content” catalogue.


* I am not a fan of his pathological racism, however.

4 Responses to “I write like science fiction writers.”

  1. Robin Says:

    Did you catch the discussion about how it’s almost entirely white men in the author list? Basically there were 40 authors in the generator, and 37 were white men, and 3 were white women. The woman who wrote that post contacted the meme creator about it, explaining that it was an entirely white and almost-entirely male list, and she had a list of suggested authors to add. His response was classic “I’m not the racist, YOU ARE, for noticing race!”:

    Thanks for your reply. I’ve added more writers into the database recently. But I *absolutely* will not add people into the database due to their race or gender. I will not search for lists of white, black, Asian, Hispanic, or any other types of people that you _took care to differentiate_. All people are equal to me, and equality means not looking at skin color or different types of chromosomes.

    I think the question is closed.

    Ugh. Colorblind-racist fail.

  2. jon Says:

    Ugh indeed, Robin. “All people are equal to me,” I just won’t acknowledge their existence. Anyhow, thanks for the links, I hadn’t seen that.

    Rather disappointingly for me is that one of my technology-oriented posts came out as writing like Lovecraft, and a piece of fiction which was attempting to be Lovecraftian and used words like vile, loathesome, blasphemous, and ‘feared for my sanity’ came out like … HG Wells!?!?!?!?!

    jon

  3. Katie Says:

    Doctorow isn’t unproblematic either. His Little Brother had a variety of unfortunate elements (white hero with sidekicks of color, weird objectification of the Asian kid who happens to be white hero’s girlfriend, etc.).

  4. NancyP Says:

    What, you use too many consonants?


Comments are closed.