White people have difficulty recognizing our emotions, but we can recognize white people’s emotions.

From the updated post White people are different from people:

In fact, group status may moderate cross-cultural emotion recognition accuracy (see Elfenbein & Ambady, 2002a; and Wolfgang & Cohen, 1988, for a discussion). For example, members of minority cultural groups may recognize emotion expressions displayed by individuals of the majority cultural group more efficiently than members of the majority can in return recognize expressions of the minority group (Elfenbein & Ambady, 2002a). Furthermore, in some cases, an out-group advantage occurs such that members of minority groups recognize the majority’s emotion expressions better than they recognize their own (Elfenbein & Ambady, 2002a). For instance, Asian Canadians have been shown to be more accurate when judging intense emotions displayed by Caucasian compared to Asian expressers (Bourgeois, Herrera, & Hess, 2005).


Related post:

One Response to “White people have difficulty recognizing our emotions, but we can recognize white people’s emotions.”

  1. LaDonna Says:

    This has been my experience. I actually took my profile photo off of my blogger account because white people on anti-racist sites kept judging my comments as hostile or angry based on my brown face. Even though I self identify as black I still feel a noticeable improvement in the reaction to my comments now that they can’t see what I look like. I really do believe that a neutral expression on a brown face is read as hostile/angry/violent/criminal/terrorist in North America. I feel like I am expected to smile, shuck, and jive to make people feel comfortable which is nonsense cause I don’t always feel like smiling, especially now that I have braces.


Comments are closed.

