Period Time: Menstruation Music with Mya

Renee of Womanist Musings periodically blogs about menstruation. While my cycle used to be synced up with hers, this time I was late. Although periods are messy, inconvenient, and often painful, sometimes not having a period can be a source of mental anguish.

Mya‘s album Moodring contains a great track about this, called “Late”. You can listen to Late while you read the lyrics below, which were slightly modified from azlyrics:

28 days pass me by and she ain’t even show
Got me smokin’, knowin’ damn well I don’t even smoke
Cause the worst thing ain’t knowin’ when, but not knowin’ when at all
I shoulda been more careful when I let him rock my boat
I stressin’ all day, everyday, hopin’ it’s not the case
I hope I’m just

Late
It shoulda came by now, so I’m tryna figure out
Late
What the hell you did, to me when you took a dig
Late
I’m overdue, what are we gonna do
I know my body, and it’s drivin’ me crazy
I’m never
Late

I’d appreciate if you start pickin’ up your phone
I’ll be damned if you’re out partyin’, while I’m stressed out at home
Why you cryin’ it ain’t yours, I didn’t do it alone
Give it 2 more days ‘fore I hit the convenience store
I’m talking about Rite Aid, CVS, you can pick the place
I hope I’m just

Late
It shoulda came by now, so I’m tryna figure out
Late
What the hell you did, to me when you took a dig
Late
I’m overdue, what are we gonna do
I know my body, and it’s drivin’ me crazy
I’m never
Late
Shoulda came by now, so I’m tryna figure out
Late
What the hell you did, baby to me when you took a dig
Late
I’m overdue, that’s why I got an attitude
I know my body, and it’s drivin’ me crazy
I’m never
Late

Prolly bought it in your high school vendin’ machine
Kept it in your wallet since you was 16
In the back pocket of ya cross color jeans
And then had the nerve to use it on me
And if it’s true, you better find another job
Cause it takes more than flippin’ burgers and fries
Smokin’ dro and playin’ on the Xbox
And hangin’ at the strip club is gon’ have to stop

Late
It shoulda came by now, so I’m tryna figure out
Late
What the hell you did, baby to me when you took a dig
Late
I’m overdue, what are we gonna do
I know my body, and it’s drivin’ me crazy
I’m never
Late
It shoulda came by now, so I’m tryna figure out
Late
Baby what the hell you did, to my body when you took a dig
Late
Oh I’m overdue, what are we — what are you gonna do. No, what are you gonna do
I know my body, and it’s drivin’ me crazy
I’m never
Late

4 Responses to “Period Time: Menstruation Music with Mya”

  1. Fiqah Says:

    RE: “Late” – I just had this discussion with myself last week. I’m kinda psyched that women discuss their periods so frankly in the blogosphere. Yay! Finally – the picture above is hilarious. Girl, 1; Sperm, 0. Game-set-match.

  2. Restructure! Says:

    I don’t think cis men understand how stressful it is. Even my married friend had this situation, and her husband told her just not to worry about it (!), instead of the rational solution, which is to get the answer via pregnancy test. It’s easy for the XY people not to worry, while the XX people can’t concentrate at work, while eating, while going to the bathroom, while showering, while sleeping.

  3. Renee Says:

    Let’s face it not having a period means confronting an unplanned pregnancy. My first child was a huge whoops. I remember the fear and the terror when I realized that my period was late. The unhusband didn’t even realize it because it never happens to his body.

  4. Restructure! Says:

    Many of the mothers who I know became mothers unintentionally.


Comments are closed.

