This is an example of sexism in tech recruitment.

This is an example of unconscious sexism in tech recruitment that assumes that women are bad with math and computers.

A public transit ad shows a brain with two hemispheres. A box pointing to the left hemisphere asks, 'Can you solve one of our puzzles?' A box pointing to the right hemisphere asks, 'Can you explain it to your mom?' Text at the bottom says, 'We're hiring hackers with people skills. itasoftware.com/careers' There is a real yellow sticky note stuck on to the ad that says, 'My mom has a PhD in math.'

The yellow sticky note says, “My mom has a PhD in math”.

Close up of yellow sticky note that says, 'My mom has a PhD in math'

I am not a mother, but if I reproduced, I would be.

The job ad is also based on the same stereotype of female technical ineptitude as “So simple, your mother could do it”.

Original photo by Jessie Bennett (via Sociological Images and Geek Feminism Blog)

7 Responses to “This is an example of sexism in tech recruitment.”

  1. Blake Says:

    I agree.

  2. Robin Says:

    “Can you explain it to your parents?” would have been just as effective, because it’d call to mind the age gap where many older people are baffled by computers. While that’s somewhat ageist (but still based in reality often enough that it’s currently excusable), at least it wouldn’t be sexist as well.

    Also, whoever put up that Post-It kicks ass.

  3. Nick Says:

    My mother is one of the most brilliant people I know, and has taught herself more tech skills than some of the people I’ve worked with in the industry.

  4. Curious Says:

    Why is that considered unconscious sexism? It seems pretty overt and conscious to me.

  5. Restructure! Says:

    Why is that considered unconscious sexism? It seems pretty overt and conscious to me.

    Because they can say that they it wasn’t their intention to be sexist:

    Please know that our intention with the creative strategy was certainly not to offend, but instead to engage prospective employees. At ITA Software, we have deep respect for all employees and would not purposely publish an opinion or perspective that could be perceived as insulting.

    (classic non-apology apology)

  6. Katie Says:

    Your image doesn’t show the sticky note, btw – had to go to the linkback.

  7. Restructure! Says:

    Katie,

    Sorry about that. I made the image too wide, so the right side is cut off when viewed with some browsers/screen resolutions. I have now made the image link to the image file itself, and I have included a close-up of the sticky note.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

